Level 7 Diploma in Risk Management


Course Description

The objective of the OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Risk Management (120 Credits) is to provide learners with the skills and understanding of risk management that align with good strategic decision making to maintain organisations’ competitive advantage. The Diploma in RiskManagement programme provides an in-depth understanding of risk and its application in practice both for financial and non-financial organisations. Learners will learn both theoretical and practical understanding of risk including risk measurement and modelling.

Why should I choose this Diploma?


Risk management is a fast-growing profession with large graduate employers increasingly offering opportunities to train and specialise in this function at graduate-entry level. This is especially true in the banking and capital market sectors, which are employing more people in their risk teams.

Risk managers are employed in the public sector, charities and in private organisations. Some small organisations carry out risk management duties in the finance or operations departments.

Employers of risk managers include:

  • Banks and financial companies
  • Central and local government
  • Charities
  • Commercial businesses
  • Energy and utilities companies
  • Engineering and construction companies
  • Insurance companies
  • Universities
  • NHS trusts.

Key Points

Level Diploma – Level 7
Credits 120
Mode of Study Online Learning
Hybrid Learning (Blended)
Duration 9 Months
Assessments Assignment only (No Exam)
Fees £3,250 (Online)

£ 6,250 (Hybrid or Blended)

Payment Plan Available
Intakes Flexible

Learning Outcomes

After studying this course, you should be able to:

  • Demonstrate knowledge of the range of financial and financial related risks facing organisations
  • Understand the approach to risk management through risk identification, risk measurement and risk management (or mitigation)
  • Understand reputational risk
  • Understand operational risk and how to manage it.

Career Direction

Today more than ever, risk management is a vital discipline.
The roles below are just some of those which are concerned with this important issue

  • Risk Surveyor
  • Regulatory Risk Manager
  • Risk and Governance Manager
  • Exit Strategy Manager

Further Education

Achieving the OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Risk Management qualification enables learners to progress into or within employment and/or continue their further studies. As this qualification is approved and regulated by Ofqual, learners are eligible to progress to a Master’s top-up programme at many optional universities in the UK and overseas with advanced standing The top-up programme can be studied online or on campus.

Progression Routes:The top-up comprises the final 60 credits which consist of either a dissertation or a dissertation and one module.

University routes for progression


The Diploma in Risk Management programme is accredited by OTHM, an Ofqual regulated awarding body.

Entry Requirements

We accept candidates who have achieved a wide range of credentials, including any post-16 qualification in the UK. Functional, Vocational and other essential skills are recognised and taken from all around the worldi.e., Bachelor’s Degree or Higher National Diploma OR Mature learners (over 25) with at least 5 years of management experience. Please get in touch with us to discuss the specific requirements for your country. If you do not meet the entry requirements as mentioned above, please contact us to find out other possible entry routes.


Learners are required to complete 6 mandatory units to achieve the 120 credits required to gain the Level 7 Diploma in Risk Management

Principles of Risk Management
Strategic Risk Management
Responsible Leadership and Governance
Organisational and Environmental Risk
Risk Analysis and Modelling
Advanced Research Methods

* These modules are core and must be passed in order to achieve the award


Assessment is by completing assignments and meeting the criteria for each of the modules. These assignments are meant to demonstrate your achievement of learning objectives. All units within this qualification are internally assessed via exams and jobs, which the awarding organisation externally verifies.
The assignments submitted by learners must achieve the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by the assessment criteria for the unit. Learners can make pass, merit or distinction grade depending on the quality of assignments and questions attempted. To achieve a merit or distinction grade, the learners must demonstrate that they have met all the criteria set for these grades.

Level 7 Diploma in Project Management

Level 7 Diploma in Logistics and Supply Chain Management