Level 5 Diploma in Computing


The ATHE Level 5 Diploma in Computing is a 120-credit Ofqual regulated qualification. It provides the core knowledge, understanding and skills to support learners planning to further their studies in computing.

This is the second level of the UK Education System Computing Degree which is equal to the second year of bachelors in UK for Computing. This Level 5 diploma in Computing focuses on all the computing related topics essential for the IT Industry and also to be able to apply it in the business industry. Completion of this degree will give access to BSc (Hons) Computing (Top Up) which is Entry of year three of a bachelor’s degree or switch to start a career in the field.

Why should I choose this Diploma?


Level 5 Diploma in Computing has been designed for learners who wish to develop the skills and knowledge required for roles in junior management. They have also been developed with progression in mind out and unable learners/s to continue to a range of Bachelor’s degrees. The addition of our General Education pathway. If taken in combination with BSc (Hons) Computing (Top Up) which is Entry of year three of a bachelor’s degree

Key Points

Level Diploma – Level 5
Mode of StudyOnline Learning

Hybrid Learning (Blended)

Duration 8– 12 Months,
AssessmentsAssignment only (No Exam)
Fees £2,750 (Online)

£5,000 (Hybrid)

Payment Plan Available
Intakes Flexible

Learning Outcomes

  • Analyse  a complex computing problem and apply principles of computing and other relevant disciplines to identify solutions.
  • Function effectively as a member or leader of a team engaged in activities appropriate to the program’s discipline.
  • Communicate effectively in a variety of professional contexts.
  • Apply computer science theory and software development fundamentals to produce computing- based solutions.
  • Design, implement, and evaluate a computing-based solution to meet a given set of computing requirements in the context of the program’s discipline.
  • Recognise professional responsibilities and make informed judgements in computing practise based on legal and ethical principles.

Career Direction

Below is a list of some of the most sought-after careers in computers, what professionals actually do in those careers, and the education necessary for career success:

  • Software engineer
  • Web developer
  • Computer programmer
  • Database Administrator
  • Computer hardware engineer
  • Network architect
  • Systems analyst

Further Education

Successful completion of the Level 5 Diploma in Computing enables learners’ direct entry into BSc (Hons) Computing (Top Up) which is Entry of year three of a bachelor’s degree or pursue to another sector.


This programme is accredited by Ofqual Awarding body ATHE

Entry Requirements

We accept candidates who have achieved a wide range of identifications, including any post-16 qualification in the UK. Efficient, Occupational and other essential skills are recognised and taken from all around the world.

Please get in touch with us to discuss the specific requirements for your country. If you do not meet the entry requirements as mentioned above, please contact us to find out other possible entry routes.


Learners are required to complete 10 units to achieve the 120 credits required to gain the Level 5 Diploma in Computing

Unit Title
Mandatory Units
Cyber Security
Web-Based Development
Innovative Technologies in Computing
Software Development Methodologies
Network Design
Database Design and Development
Ethical, Legal and Regulatory Issues and Professional Responsibilities in IT
Strategic Management Information Systems
Managing a Computing Project
Computing Research Methods

* These modules are core and must be passed in order to achieve the award


Assessment is by completing assignments and meeting the criteria for each of the modules. These assignments are meant to demonstrate your achievement of learning objectives. All units within this qualification are internally assessed via exams and jobs, which the awarding organisation externally verifies.

The assignments submitted by learners must achieve the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by the assessment criteria for the unit. Learners can make pass, merit or distinction grade depending on the quality of assignments and questions attempted. To achieve a merit or distinction grade, the learners must demonstrate that they have met all the criteria set for these grades.

Level 7 Extended Diploma in Computing Technologies

Level 4 Diploma in Computing

Level 3 Diploma in Information and Digital Technologies