Level 4 Extended Diploma in Management for Health and Social Care


The ATHE Level 4 Extended Diploma in Management for Health and Social Care is a 120-credit Ofqual regulated qualification and is the equivalent level to the first year of a bachelor’s degree. The Health and Social care sectors offer a wide range of roles that provide services to the field of the healthcare industry. The qualification offers the health and social care workers of today and future to bring appreciation and proficiency to the health and social division. This qualification has been designed for learners who are seeking to progress to university to join the second year of a bachelor’s degree course in an area of management within the healthcare sector. We provide the aspirants to take this opportunity to gain knowledge from these programmes that deliver relevant skills and qualities.

Why should I choose this Diploma?


Level 4 Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care course is to develop learners understanding of policy and management theory. It helps in your practice in health and social care. Also, it provides learners with an opportunity to solve with the challenges faced. Further it will provide vital knowledge. It enhances the ability to work as an effective manager in the social care industry. Moreover, it combines both theoretical and practical knowledge.

Key Points

Level Diploma – Level 4
Credits 120
Mode of Study Online Learning / Hybrid Learning (Blended)
Duration 8– 12 Months,
Assessments Assignment only (No Exam)
Fees £2,750 (Online) / £5,000 (Hybrid)
Payment Plan Available
Intakes Flexible

Learning Outcomes

  • The ability to read and use appropriate literature with a full and critical understanding the ability to think independently and solve problems.
  • Applying subject knowledge and understanding to address familiar and unfamiliar problems .
  • Recognising the moral and ethical issues of health and social care practice and research; appreciating the need for ethical standards and professional codes of conduct.
  • An appreciation of the interdisciplinary nature of health and social care service provision
  • Capacity to give a clear and accurate account of a subject, in a mature way and engage in debate and dialogue both with specialists and non-specialists.
  • To develop transferable skills and knowledge which will enable individuals to meet changing.
  • To motivate individuals to progress to further professional development through future study or as part of their chosen career.

Career Direction

  • Adult Nurse.
  • Care Worker.
  • Community Development Worker.
  • Health Promotion Specialist.
  • Occupational Therapist.
  • Social Worker.
  • Youth Worker.

Further Education

Successful completion of the Level 4Health and Social Care Diploma enables learners’ direct entry into Year 2nd of a three-year UK undergraduate programme or pursue Level 5 Health and Social Care Diploma or another sector.


This programme is accredited by Ofqual Awarding body ATHE

Entry Requirements

We accept candidates who have achieved a wide range of credentials, including any post-16 qualification in the UK. Functional, Vocational and other essential skills are recognised and taken from all around the world. Please get in touch with us to discuss the specific requirements for your country.

If you do not meet the entry requirements as mentioned above, please contact us to find out other possible entry routes.


Learners are required to complete 8 units to achieve the 120 credits required to gain the Level 4 Extended Diploma in Management for Health and Social Care

Unit Title
Mandatory Units
Health and Social Care in Context
Communication Skills for Health and Social Care Management
People in Organisations
Corporate Social Responsibility
Empowering Users of Health and Social Care Services
Health and Safety in the Health and Social Care Workplace
Contemporary Issues in Health and Social Care
Personal and Professional Development

* These modules are core and must be passed in order to achieve the award


Assessment is by completing assignments and meeting the criteria for each of the modules. These assignments are meant to demonstrate your achievement of learning objectives. All units within this qualification are internally assessed via exams and jobs, which the awarding organisation externally verifies.

The assignments submitted by learners must achieve the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by the assessment criteria for the unit. Learners can make pass, merit or distinction grade depending on the quality of assignments and questions attempted. To achieve a merit or distinction grade, the learners must demonstrate that they have met all the criteria set for these grades.

Level 6 Diploma in Healthcare Management

Level 5 Extended Diploma in Management for Health and Social Care

Level 7 Diploma in Healthcare Management

ATHE Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care