Level 6 Diploma in Healthcare Management


The ATHE Level 6 Diploma in Healthcare Management is a 120-credit Ofqual-regulated qualification and is the equivalent level to the third year of a bachelor’s degree. This qualification has been designed for learners who are seeking to progress to higher education to take an MBA programme in an area of healthcare management. This qualification aims to develop learners understanding of management and to develop key management skills. As well as the Extended Diploma option (120-credit) there is a range of certificates and awards available.

Why should I choose this Diploma?


Level 6 Diploma in Healthcare Management course is to develop learners understanding of policy and management theory. It helps in your practice in healthcare management. Also, it provides learners with an opportunity to solve with the challenges faced. Further it will provide vital knowledge. It enhances the ability to work as an effective manager in the social care industry. Moreover, it combines both theoretical and practical knowledge.

Key Points

Level Diploma – Level 6
Credits 120
Mode of Study Online Learning

Hybrid Learning (Blended)

Duration 8 -12 Months,
Assessments Assignment only (No Exam)
Fees £2,750 (Online)

£ 5,000 (Hybrid or Blended)

Payment Plan Available
Intakes Flexible

Learning Outcomes

  • The ability to read and use appropriate literature with a full and critical understanding the ability to think independently and solve problems
  • Applying subject knowledge and understanding to address familiar and unfamiliar problems
  • Recognising the moral and ethical issues of health and social care practice and research; appreciating the need for ethical standards and professional codes of conduct
  • An appreciation of the interdisciplinary nature of health and social care service provision
  • Capacity to give a clear and accurate account of a subject, in a mature way and engage in debate and dialogue both with specialists and non-specialists.
  • To develop transferable skills and knowledge which will enable individuals to meet changing
  • To motivate individuals to progress to further professional development through future study or as part of their chosen career

Career Direction

  • Adult nurse
  • Care home manager
  • Care worker
  • Children’s nurse
  • Health promotion / education specialist
  • Health service manager
  • Learning disability nurse
  • Mental health nurse

Further Education

Learners who complete this qualification can progress onto an MSc programme at a higher education institution such as the University of Portsmouth, or onto the ATHE Level 7 Diploma in Healthcare Management.


This programme is accredited by Ofqual Awarding body ATHE

Entry Requirements

We accept candidates who have achieved a wide range of credentials, including any post-16 qualification in the UK. Functional, Vocational, and other essential skills are recognised and taken from all around the world. Please get in touch with us to discuss the specific requirements for your country.

If you do not meet the entry requirements as mentioned above, please contact us to find out other possible entry routes.


Learners are required to complete 10 units to achieve the 120 credits required to gain the Level 6 Diploma in Healthcare management

        Units Title                                                    
Mandatory Units
International Healthcare Policy
Managing Quality and Service Delivery
Leadership and Management
Research Project
Personal Leadership and Management Development
Managing Finance in the Public Sector
Human Resource Management
Project Management
Manage Sustainability in an Organisation
Strategic Planning

* These modules are core and must be passed to achieve the award


Assessment is by completing assignments and meeting the criteria for each of the modules. These assignments are meant to demonstrate your achievement of learning objectives. All units within this qualification are internally assessed via exams and jobs, which the awarding organisation externally verifies.

The assignments submitted by learners must achieve the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by the assessment criteria for the unit. Learners can make pass, merit or distinction grade depending on the quality of assignments and questions attempted. To achieve a merit or distinction grade, the learners must demonstrate that they have met all the criteria set for these grades.

ATHE Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care

Level 4 Extended Diploma in Management for Health and Social Care

Level 5 Extended Diploma in Management for Health and Social Care

Level 7 Diploma in Healthcare Management